Patrick Henry College is a private, nonprofit institution in Virginia, enrolling 388 students as of 2024. It graduates 59% of students in four years, returns 88% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $25,869 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Endowment. This report benchmarks Patrick Henry College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.
Patrick Henry College Inspection Flags
Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.
Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.
Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.
Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
Student Outcomes
How students at Patrick Henry College complete their degrees, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
College Financial Health
How financially stable Patrick Henry College is, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
Value for Your Money
How Patrick Henry College spends its budget and what families pay, benchmarked against U.S. four-year colleges.
How Much Will This Cost for Your Income Level?
Net price is the average annual out-of-pocket cost for first-time, full-time undergraduate students — tuition + fees + room & board, minus the grants and scholarships the institution reports providing to students in each income bracket. Select your household income below to see the reported figure for that group.
Patrick Henry College — All Reported Indicators
Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Patrick Henry College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.
Student Outcomes
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-Year Graduation Rate | 59.0% | not reported | 77th |
| Six-Year Graduation Rate | 65.0% | not reported | 68th |
| Full-Time Retention Rate | 88.0% | -3.3% | 82nd |
| Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pell Share of Cohort | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0th |
Financial Health
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue-to-Expense Ratio | 1.14× | +9.2% | 65th |
| Total FTE Enrollment | 388 | +36.1% | 18th |
| Endowment Value | $3.2M | +61.0% | 10th |
| Net Assets (End of Year) | $44.6M | +11.9% | 34th |
Value for Money
| Metric | 2024 Value | 5-Yr % Change | National Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instructional Spending % | 33.2% | -6.6% | 49th |
| Student Support Spending % | 16.0% | -3.3% | 63rd |
| Administrative Spending % | 14.2% | -12.3% | 31st |
| Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio | 3.46× | +7.8% | 67th |
| Average Net Price | $25,869 | +5.8% | 76th |
| Net Price: $0-30K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $30K-48K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $48-75K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $75K-110K Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Net Price: $110K+ Income | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Inspection Flags
| Flag | Section | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Retention Below 80% Patrick Henry College's retention rate stayed at or above 88% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50% Patrick Henry College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold. | Student Outcomes | Cleared |
| Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students. | Student Outcomes | Not Evaluated |
| Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0 Patrick Henry College's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.14× in 2024. | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Enrollment Declined 5% or More Patrick Henry College's total enrollment grew from 285 to 388 students between 2020 and 2024 (+36.1%). | Financial Health | Cleared |
| Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15% Patrick Henry College's endowment is $3.2M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +61.0% over the period. | Financial Health | Triggered |
| High Cost, Low Completion Patrick Henry College costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met. | Value for Money | Cleared |
| Spending on Students Below the National Median Patrick Henry College spends $3.46 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year. | Value for Money | Cleared |
| Rising Price, Falling Outcomes Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated. | Value for Money | Not Evaluated |