College Viability Inspection Report

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus

Ohio · Public

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus is a public institution in Ohio, enrolling 755 students as of 2024. It graduates 12% of students in four years, returns 60% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $5,957 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Ohio University-Zanesville Campus between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 2 with no years reported at all) and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Ohio University-Zanesville Campus — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Ohio University-Zanesville Campus. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate12.0%+33.3%13th
Six-Year Graduation Rate15.0%-6.3%6th
Full-Time Retention Rate60.0%+5.3%13th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate13.2%-35.7%7th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap14.3pp-26.1%73rd
Pell Share of Cohort50.0%+0.4%70th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.37×not reported90th
Total FTE Enrollment755-22.4%29th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %70.7%not reported99th
Student Support Spending %9.3%not reported34th
Administrative Spending %3.8%not reported2nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio21.23×-60.0%100th
Average Net Price$5,957-22.6%4th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$3,280-50.0%5th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$3,163-50.4%4th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,459-40.2%4th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$7,853-28.9%3rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$8,773-23.0%2nd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 4 reported years — ending at 1.37× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus's total enrollment fell from 973 to 755 students between 2020 and 2024 (-22.4%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Ohio University-Zanesville Campus spends $21.23 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared