College Viability Inspection Report

Oglala Lakota College

South Dakota · Public

Oglala Lakota College is a public institution in South Dakota, enrolling 736 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 62% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $3,173 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Oglala Lakota College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Oglala Lakota College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Oglala Lakota College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Oglala Lakota College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate2.0%-66.7%3rd
Full-Time Retention Rate62.0%-1.6%15th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate8.9%+185.7%6th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap3.6pp+214.3%29th
Pell Share of Cohort87.5%-4.3%95th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.47×+46.4%94th
Total FTE Enrollment736-12.8%28th
Endowment Value$86.8M+62.3%62nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$122.4M+43.4%56th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %13.8%-27.3%4th
Student Support Spending %3.6%+5.7%10th
Administrative Spending %17.3%+36.0%46th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.00×-42.9%8th
Average Net Price$3,173+53.4%1st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$1,422-15.6%2nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$219-88.5%1st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,542+94.8%4th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$6,535not reported1st
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Oglala Lakota College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Oglala Lakota College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Oglala Lakota College's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Oglala Lakota College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Oglala Lakota College's total enrollment fell from 844 to 736 students between 2020 and 2024 (-12.8%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Oglala Lakota College's endowment is $86.8M and grew +62.3% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Oglala Lakota College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Oglala Lakota College spends $1.00 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Oglala Lakota College's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered