College Viability Inspection Report

Odessa College

Texas · Public

Odessa College is a public institution in Texas, enrolling 4,986 students as of 2024. It returns 66% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $7,371 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Endowment. This report benchmarks Odessa College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Odessa College between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Odessa College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Odessa College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Odessa College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate66.0%+10.0%21st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.19×+4.6%75th
Total FTE Enrollment4,986+12.8%78th
Endowment Value$23.1M+80.5%32nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$118.2M+136.5%55th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %42.7%-1.5%82nd
Student Support Spending %8.9%-1.2%32nd
Administrative Spending %13.0%-7.4%26th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.97×+6.4%76th
Average Net Price$7,371-12.4%7th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$5,648+2.4%10th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$6,001+7.8%10th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$8,407+6.7%10th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$9,864+45.6%7th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$10,586+21.3%3rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Odessa College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Odessa College's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.19× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Odessa College's total enrollment grew from 4,421 to 4,986 students between 2020 and 2024 (+12.8%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Odessa College's endowment is $23.1M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +80.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Odessa College's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated