College Viability Inspection Report

North Central State College

Ohio · Public

North Central State College is a public institution in Ohio, enrolling 1,439 students as of 2024. It returns 71% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $4,065 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks North Central State College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for North Central State College between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

North Central State College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

North Central State College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for North Central State College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate71.0%+6.0%32nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.28×+10.6%84th
Total FTE Enrollment1,439-15.7%47th
Endowment Value$4.6M+11.8%13th
Net Assets (End of Year)$32.7M+92.3%29th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %35.0%-5.2%57th
Student Support Spending %10.9%-3.6%42nd
Administrative Spending %20.8%-5.3%61st
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.20×+0.5%34th
Average Net Price$4,065-21.7%1st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$3,344-18.5%5th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$2,087-56.4%2nd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,076-19.9%3rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$7,753-6.5%3rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$7,248-11.9%1st

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
North Central State College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
North Central State College's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.28× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
North Central State College's total enrollment fell from 1,707 to 1,439 students between 2020 and 2024 (-15.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
North Central State College's endowment is $4.6M — under $50 million — and grew +11.8% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
North Central State College spends $2.20 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated