College Viability Inspection Report

New York School of Interior Design

New York · Private, not-for-profit

New York School of Interior Design is a private, nonprofit institution in New York, enrolling 248 students as of 2024. It graduates 50% of students in four years, returns 100% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $46,633 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Endowment. This report benchmarks New York School of Interior Design's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for New York School of Interior Design between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

New York School of Interior Design Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

New York School of Interior Design — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for New York School of Interior Design. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate50.0%-12.3%65th
Six-Year Graduation Rate83.0%+16.9%90th
Full-Time Retention Rate100.0%+49.3%97th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-33.3pp-133.3%3rd
Pell Share of Cohort14.3%-28.6%8th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.28×+0.3%84th
Total FTE Enrollment248+1.2%14th
Endowment Value$11.1M+57.7%20th
Net Assets (End of Year)$50.3M+36.3%36th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %50.7%-3.8%92nd
Student Support Spending %10.2%-8.4%38th
Administrative Spending %25.0%+6.8%74th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.43×-10.7%41st
Average Net Price$46,633+15.8%98th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$45,032-7.8%100th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$43,696-16.3%99th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$47,685not reported99th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$46,647not reported93rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
New York School of Interior Design's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
New York School of Interior Design's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
New York School of Interior Design's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
New York School of Interior Design's total enrollment grew from 245 to 248 students between 2020 and 2024 (+1.2%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
New York School of Interior Design's endowment is $11.1M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +57.7% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
New York School of Interior Design costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
New York School of Interior Design's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared