College Viability Inspection Report

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary

Louisiana · Private, not-for-profit

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary is a private, nonprofit institution in Louisiana, enrolling 548 students as of 2024. It graduates 8% of students in four years, returns 92% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $14,164 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Graduation. This report benchmarks New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate8.0%-11.1%9th
Six-Year Graduation Rate36.0%-7.7%20th
Full-Time Retention Rate92.0%+50.8%88th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort0.0%0.0%0th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.08×+3.2%52nd
Total FTE Enrollment548+4.8%22nd
Endowment Value$82.1M+22.5%61st
Net Assets (End of Year)$120.0M+15.7%55th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %41.6%+2.4%79th
Student Support Spending %2.5%+2.4%7th
Administrative Spending %12.9%+2.4%25th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.42×0.0%66th
Average Net Price$14,164-3.7%29th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$10,829not reported34th
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's total enrollment grew from 523 to 548 students between 2020 and 2024 (+4.8%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary's endowment is $82.1M and grew +22.5% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary spends $3.42 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared