College Viability Inspection Report

New England College

New Hampshire · Private, not-for-profit

New England College is a private, nonprofit institution in New Hampshire, enrolling 1,040 students as of 2024. It graduates 26% of students in four years, returns 61% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $27,398 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks New England College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

New England College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

New England College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for New England College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate26.0%+13.0%26th
Six-Year Graduation Rate31.0%+6.9%14th
Full-Time Retention Rate61.0%-1.6%14th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate28.0%+58.7%16th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap13.8pp+33.5%71st
Pell Share of Cohort51.4%-1.5%74th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.11×+10.3%58th
Total FTE Enrollment1,040-46.6%37th
Endowment Value$35.5M+36.2%41st
Net Assets (End of Year)$56.0M+1.6%38th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %28.6%-10.0%31st
Student Support Spending %23.6%+1.8%86th
Administrative Spending %24.2%+15.3%72nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.16×-17.6%33rd
Average Net Price$27,398-14.4%80th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$25,598-23.6%91st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$24,340-30.3%88th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$26,238-32.2%88th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$28,741not reported85th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$28,249-33.2%65th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
New England College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
New England College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
New England College's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 5 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
New England College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
New England College's total enrollment fell from 1,949 to 1,040 students between 2020 and 2024 (-46.6%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
New England College's endowment is $35.5M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +36.2% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
New England College costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
New England College spends $2.16 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared