College Viability Inspection Report

Mount Angel Seminary

Oregon · Private, not-for-profit

Mount Angel Seminary is a private, nonprofit institution in Oregon, enrolling 30 students as of 2024. It graduates 40% of students in four years, returns 100% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $45,366 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Mount Angel Seminary's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Mount Angel Seminary between 2020 and 2024. 5 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 2 with no years reported at all) and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Mount Angel Seminary Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Mount Angel Seminary — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Mount Angel Seminary. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate40.0%-33.3%49th
Six-Year Graduation Rate40.0%-33.3%24th
Full-Time Retention Rate100.0%+25.0%97th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort0.0%0.0%0th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment30-23.1%3rd
Endowment Value$31.4M+61.4%38th
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %13.6%not reported4th
Student Support Spending %1.8%not reported5th
Administrative Spending %21.7%not reported64th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.71×-52.1%4th
Average Net Price$45,366+31.2%97th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Mount Angel Seminary's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Mount Angel Seminary's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Mount Angel Seminary's total enrollment fell from 39 to 30 students between 2020 and 2024 (-23.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Mount Angel Seminary's endowment is $31.4M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +61.4% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Mount Angel Seminary costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Mount Angel Seminary spends $0.71 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Mount Angel Seminary's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered