College Viability Inspection Report

Missouri State University-Springfield

Missouri · Public

Missouri State University-Springfield is a public institution in Missouri, enrolling 13,071 students as of 2024. It graduates 40% of students in four years, returns 77% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $17,181 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Missouri State University-Springfield's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Missouri State University-Springfield between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Missouri State University-Springfield Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Missouri State University-Springfield — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Missouri State University-Springfield. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate40.0%+33.3%49th
Six-Year Graduation Rate58.0%+7.4%55th
Full-Time Retention Rate77.0%-2.5%51st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate48.5%+2.4%51st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap13.6pp-13.0%70th
Pell Share of Cohort30.9%-7.4%34th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.08×+19.5%51st
Total FTE Enrollment13,071-12.7%92nd
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$373.9M+34.2%80th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %36.7%+8.9%64th
Student Support Spending %4.4%+26.5%13th
Administrative Spending %9.7%+42.5%15th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.22×-22.4%80th
Average Net Price$17,181+2.2%43rd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$13,718+10.8%50th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$13,529+2.9%46th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$14,905-6.5%41st
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$18,770+4.3%41st
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,576+7.1%30th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Missouri State University-Springfield's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Missouri State University-Springfield's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Missouri State University-Springfield's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 5 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Missouri State University-Springfield's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Missouri State University-Springfield's total enrollment fell from 14,978 to 13,071 students between 2020 and 2024 (-12.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Missouri State University-Springfield costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Missouri State University-Springfield spends $4.22 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared