College Viability Inspection Report

Midwives College of Utah

Utah · Private, not-for-profit

Midwives College of Utah is a private, nonprofit institution in Utah, enrolling 214 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 50% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $37,278 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Cost vs. Completion. This report benchmarks Midwives College of Utah's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Midwives College of Utah between 2020 and 2024. 5 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Midwives College of Utah Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Midwives College of Utah — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Midwives College of Utah. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%not reported0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%not reported0th
Full-Time Retention Rate50.0%-25.4%5th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%not reported53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-16.7ppnot reported5th
Pell Share of Cohort40.0%not reported53rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.01×+13.8%30th
Total FTE Enrollment214+5.9%13th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$535,009+114.6%6th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %27.7%+3.5%28th
Student Support Spending %51.6%+3.0%100th
Administrative Spending %3.6%+22.7%2nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio21.90×-15.9%100th
Average Net Price$37,278+66.5%94th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$39,632+104.8%99th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$32,570not reported96th
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Midwives College of Utah's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Midwives College of Utah's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Midwives College of Utah's total enrollment grew from 202 to 214 students between 2020 and 2024 (+5.9%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Midwives College of Utah costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Midwives College of Utah spends $21.90 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated