College Viability Inspection Report

Messenger College

Texas · Private, not-for-profit

Messenger College is a private, nonprofit institution in Texas, enrolling 23 students as of 2024. It graduates 25% of students in four years, returns 57% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $25,941 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Messenger College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Messenger College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Messenger College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Messenger College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Messenger College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate25.0%+150.0%25th
Six-Year Graduation Rate25.0%+25.0%10th
Full-Time Retention Rate57.0%not reported10th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%+400.0%98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap0.0pp-100.0%17th
Pell Share of Cohort57.1%-20.0%80th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.00×-7.7%27th
Total FTE Enrollment23-37.8%2nd
Endowment Value$845,052+7.0%5th
Net Assets (End of Year)$2.7M+2.9%10th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %9.5%-25.4%2nd
Student Support Spending %10.4%-43.2%40th
Administrative Spending %30.7%-9.2%85th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.65×-29.4%3rd
Average Net Price$25,941+38.3%76th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$28,494+76.5%93rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$24,551not reported85th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$24,903not reported73rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$29,756+39.1%69th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Messenger College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Messenger College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Messenger College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Messenger College's total enrollment fell from 37 to 23 students between 2020 and 2024 (-37.8%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Messenger College's endowment is $845,052 — under $50 million — and grew +7.0% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Messenger College costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Messenger College spends $0.65 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared