College Viability Inspection Report

Life University

Georgia · Private, not-for-profit

Life University is a private, nonprofit institution in Georgia, enrolling 907 students as of 2024. It graduates 21% of students in four years, returns 63% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $29,111 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Cost vs. Completion, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Life University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Life University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Life University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Life University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Life University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate21.0%+23.5%20th
Six-Year Graduation Rate31.0%-6.1%14th
Full-Time Retention Rate63.0%-12.5%17th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate36.3%+32.9%27th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap3.1pp+55.9%27th
Pell Share of Cohort46.0%-19.8%64th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.98×-2.9%21st
Total FTE Enrollment907-8.1%34th
Endowment Value$4.7Mnot reported13th
Net Assets (End of Year)$29.4M+13.3%27th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %22.6%-8.2%16th
Student Support Spending %15.9%+24.4%63rd
Administrative Spending %24.2%+10.3%72nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.59×-6.7%19th
Average Net Price$29,111+2.6%84th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$28,151+7.0%94th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$28,136+10.4%93rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$30,263+6.3%94th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$33,995+15.1%93rd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$30,883-6.7%74th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Life University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Life University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Life University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Life University's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.98×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Life University's total enrollment fell from 987 to 907 students between 2020 and 2024 (-8.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Life University costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Life University spends $1.59 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Life University's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered