College Viability Inspection Report

Le Moyne-Owen College

Tennessee · Private, not-for-profit

Le Moyne-Owen College is a private, nonprofit institution in Tennessee, enrolling 556 students as of 2024. It graduates 8% of students in four years, returns 47% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $6,542 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Le Moyne-Owen College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Le Moyne-Owen College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Le Moyne-Owen College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Le Moyne-Owen College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate8.0%+300.0%9th
Six-Year Graduation Rate20.0%+66.7%7th
Full-Time Retention Rate47.0%-2.1%4th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate29.2%+110.9%17th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap24.6pp+92.2%94th
Pell Share of Cohort89.7%+0.0%96th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.89×-11.5%9th
Total FTE Enrollment556-28.5%23rd
Endowment Value$16.3M+30.0%26th
Net Assets (End of Year)$43.1M+64.0%33rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %16.2%-26.6%6th
Student Support Spending %24.7%+8.7%88th
Administrative Spending %52.2%+27.4%99th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.78×-28.3%5th
Average Net Price$6,542-15.3%5th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$6,393-30.2%12th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$7,213-24.2%14th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$7,411-25.4%8th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$8,112-21.5%3rd
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Le Moyne-Owen College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Le Moyne-Owen College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Le Moyne-Owen College's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Le Moyne-Owen College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Le Moyne-Owen College's total enrollment fell from 778 to 556 students between 2020 and 2024 (-28.5%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Le Moyne-Owen College's endowment is $16.3M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +30.0% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Le Moyne-Owen College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Le Moyne-Owen College spends $0.78 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared