College Viability Inspection Report

Kuyper College

Michigan · Private, not-for-profit

Kuyper College is a private, nonprofit institution in Michigan, enrolling 117 students as of 2024. It graduates 47% of students in four years, returns 59% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $17,669 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Graduation and Endowment. This report benchmarks Kuyper College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Kuyper College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Kuyper College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Kuyper College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Kuyper College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate47.0%+23.7%60th
Six-Year Graduation Rate56.0%+24.4%51st
Full-Time Retention Rate59.0%-28.1%12th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate45.5%-18.2%45th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap0.0pp+100.0%17th
Pell Share of Cohort50.0%+47.2%70th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.18×+4.3%73rd
Total FTE Enrollment117+9.3%9th
Endowment Value$6.7M+56.2%16th
Net Assets (End of Year)$12.4M+20.1%18th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %23.3%-44.4%17th
Student Support Spending %7.3%-1.8%24th
Administrative Spending %11.1%-19.2%19th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.76×-23.2%50th
Average Net Price$17,669-8.3%44th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$14,024-17.9%51st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,765not reported31st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$13,865-27.3%35th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$24,243+25.7%70th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$21,321not reported33rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Kuyper College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Kuyper College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Kuyper College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Kuyper College's total enrollment grew from 107 to 117 students between 2020 and 2024 (+9.3%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Kuyper College's endowment is $6.7M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +56.2% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Kuyper College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Kuyper College's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared