College Viability Inspection Report

Kent State University at Trumbull

Ohio · Public

Kent State University at Trumbull is a public institution in Ohio, enrolling 799 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 47% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $11,562 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Kent State University at Trumbull's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Kent State University at Trumbull between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 2 with no years reported at all) and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Kent State University at Trumbull Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Kent State University at Trumbull — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Kent State University at Trumbull. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate47.0%-17.5%4th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate2.0%-88.2%5th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-0.3pp-144.2%16th
Pell Share of Cohort62.6%-3.9%85th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.87×not reported7th
Total FTE Enrollment799-20.3%30th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %51.6%not reported93rd
Student Support Spending %11.8%not reported47th
Administrative Spending %19.2%not reported54th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.30×-5.3%64th
Average Net Price$11,562+35.9%18th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,578+36.3%26th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,077+24.8%27th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$10,920+1.3%19th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$15,516+30.1%24th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$17,771+43.4%18th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Kent State University at Trumbull's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Kent State University at Trumbull's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Kent State University at Trumbull's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Kent State University at Trumbull's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.87×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Kent State University at Trumbull's total enrollment fell from 1,003 to 799 students between 2020 and 2024 (-20.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Kent State University at Trumbull costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Kent State University at Trumbull spends $3.30 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Kent State University at Trumbull's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered