College Viability Inspection Report

Jewish Theological Seminary of America

New York · Private, not-for-profit

Jewish Theological Seminary of America is a private, nonprofit institution in New York, enrolling 190 students as of 2024. It graduates 71% of students in four years, returns 96% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $58,152 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses, Endowment, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Jewish Theological Seminary of America's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Jewish Theological Seminary of America between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Jewish Theological Seminary of America Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Jewish Theological Seminary of America — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Jewish Theological Seminary of America. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate71.0%0.0%89th
Six-Year Graduation Rate81.0%-1.2%89th
Full-Time Retention Rate96.0%+21.5%94th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-11.5ppnot reported7th
Pell Share of Cohort16.1%not reported11th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.22×+35.7%79th
Total FTE Enrollment190+4.4%12th
Endowment Value$150.2M+9.1%73rd
Net Assets (End of Year)$275.7M+6.0%75th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %13.9%-22.4%4th
Student Support Spending %2.9%-38.8%8th
Administrative Spending %37.8%+17.8%93rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.45×-37.0%2nd
Average Net Price$58,152+13.2%100th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$26,445not reported78th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$51,570-6.0%96th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Jewish Theological Seminary of America's retention rate fell below 80% in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Jewish Theological Seminary of America's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 68% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Jewish Theological Seminary of America's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 1.22×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Jewish Theological Seminary of America's total enrollment grew from 182 to 190 students between 2020 and 2024 (+4.4%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Jewish Theological Seminary of America's endowment grew +9.1% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold — though at $150.2M it clears the $50 million size threshold.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Jewish Theological Seminary of America costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Jewish Theological Seminary of America spends $0.45 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Jewish Theological Seminary of America's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered