College Viability Inspection Report

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce

Puerto Rico · Private, not-for-profit

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce is a private, nonprofit institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 2,070 students as of 2024. It graduates 10% of students in four years, returns 69% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $9,118 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Enrollment, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate10.0%-28.6%11th
Six-Year Graduation Rate29.0%-25.6%13th
Full-Time Retention Rate69.0%-1.4%27th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate33.8%-2.9%23rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap11.3pp+65.5%61st
Pell Share of Cohort93.9%-2.6%98th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment2,070-34.8%58th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %49.0%not reported91st
Student Support Spending %8.9%not reported32nd
Administrative Spending %12.0%not reported22nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.82×-15.9%87th
Average Net Price$9,118+16.9%10th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$8,685+13.5%21st
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$9,595+18.9%24th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$11,557+12.8%23rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$13,540not reported16th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's total enrollment fell from 3,174 to 2,070 students between 2020 and 2024 (-34.8%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce spends $4.82 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered