College Viability Inspection Report

Homestead Schools

California · Private, not-for-profit

Homestead Schools is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 214 students as of 2024. It costs an average of $15,962 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 3 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Enrollment. This report benchmarks Homestead Schools's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Homestead Schools between 2020 and 2024. 6 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 6 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Homestead Schools Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Homestead Schools — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Homestead Schools. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.54×-4.9%95th
Total FTE Enrollment214-6.5%13th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$10.3M+42.6%17th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %45.6%+30.7%87th
Student Support Spending %5.2%-16.8%16th
Administrative Spending %4.1%-44.5%3rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio12.25×+122.7%99th
Average Net Price$15,962+11.3%37th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$16,839+20.7%64th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$16,839not reported62nd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$13,693-11.9%34th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$17,870not reported19th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Homestead Schools's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Homestead Schools's total enrollment fell from 229 to 214 students between 2020 and 2024 (-6.6%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Homestead Schools spends $12.25 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated