College Viability Inspection Report

Hesston College

Kansas · Private, not-for-profit

Hesston College is a private, nonprofit institution in Kansas, enrolling 290 students as of 2024. It graduates 71% of students in four years, returns 78% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $22,723 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Hesston College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Hesston College between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Hesston College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Hesston College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Hesston College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate71.0%not reported89th
Six-Year Graduation Rate82.0%not reported89th
Full-Time Retention Rate78.0%-17.0%54th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate42.9%not reported40th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap23.8ppnot reported94th
Pell Share of Cohort53.8%not reported77th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.93×-0.0%12th
Total FTE Enrollment290-16.9%15th
Endowment Value$14.8M+9.0%25th
Net Assets (End of Year)$43.0M+13.9%33rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %31.9%-3.8%44th
Student Support Spending %22.1%-0.4%83rd
Administrative Spending %22.9%+17.5%68th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.36×-16.9%39th
Average Net Price$22,723+15.0%65th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$20,762+39.1%79th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$19,140+21.1%73rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$27,809+25.7%91st
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$36,239+85.1%95th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$26,267+24.1%56th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Hesston College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Hesston College's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.93×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Hesston College's total enrollment fell from 349 to 290 students between 2020 and 2024 (-16.9%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Hesston College's endowment is $14.8M — under $50 million — and grew +9.0% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Hesston College costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Hesston College spends $2.36 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 3 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated