College Viability Inspection Report

Herzing University-New Orleans

Louisiana · Private, not-for-profit

Herzing University-New Orleans is a private, nonprofit institution in Louisiana, enrolling 425 students as of 2024. It graduates 10% of students in four years, returns 50% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,269 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, and Cost vs. Completion. This report benchmarks Herzing University-New Orleans's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Herzing University-New Orleans between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Herzing University-New Orleans Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Herzing University-New Orleans — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Herzing University-New Orleans. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate10.0%-60.0%11th
Six-Year Graduation Rate20.0%-20.0%7th
Full-Time Retention Rate50.0%-25.4%5th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort100.0%0.0%98th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.99×-34.9%25th
Total FTE Enrollment425-8.0%19th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$12.5M+39.6%18th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %32.4%+54.6%46th
Student Support Spending %26.8%-34.5%92nd
Administrative Spending %15.2%-22.4%36th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.90×+23.2%75th
Average Net Price$21,269-8.0%59th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$20,759-13.6%79th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$22,206+66.8%82nd
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$22,797not reported63rd
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Herzing University-New Orleans's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Herzing University-New Orleans's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Herzing University-New Orleans's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Herzing University-New Orleans's total enrollment fell from 462 to 425 students between 2020 and 2024 (-8.0%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Herzing University-New Orleans costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Herzing University-New Orleans spends $3.90 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared