College Viability Inspection Report

Herzing University-Brookfield

Wisconsin · Private, not-for-profit

Herzing University-Brookfield is a private, nonprofit institution in Wisconsin, enrolling 425 students as of 2024. It graduates 100% of students in four years, returns 40% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $20,378 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Herzing University-Brookfield's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Herzing University-Brookfield between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Herzing University-Brookfield Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Herzing University-Brookfield — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Herzing University-Brookfield. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate100.0%+1150.0%100th
Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%+566.7%99th
Full-Time Retention Rate40.0%-60.0%2nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate60.0%not reported72nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-10.0pp-110.0%8th
Pell Share of Cohort71.4%+42.9%90th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.80×-42.0%3rd
Total FTE Enrollment425-31.1%19th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$832,118+604.2%6th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %41.8%+0.6%80th
Student Support Spending %28.6%+10.3%94th
Administrative Spending %12.8%-8.0%25th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio5.49×+13.4%91st
Average Net Price$20,378-18.0%55th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$19,996-18.8%76th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$18,153-35.3%69th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$22,415-10.8%78th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$22,850not reported40th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Herzing University-Brookfield's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Herzing University-Brookfield's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Herzing University-Brookfield's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.80×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Herzing University-Brookfield's total enrollment fell from 617 to 425 students between 2020 and 2024 (-31.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Herzing University-Brookfield costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Herzing University-Brookfield spends $5.49 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared