College Viability Inspection Report

Herzing University-Akron

Ohio · Private, not-for-profit

Herzing University-Akron is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 382 students as of 2024. It graduates 23% of students in four years, returns 25% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $18,434 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Retention and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Herzing University-Akron's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Herzing University-Akron between 2020 and 2024. 5 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 1 with no year reported at all) and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Herzing University-Akron Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Herzing University-Akron — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Herzing University-Akron. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate23.0%-77.0%22nd
Six-Year Graduation Rate31.0%-69.0%14th
Full-Time Retention Rate25.0%-24.2%1st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%not reported0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohort100.0%not reported98th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.08×-30.0%52nd
Total FTE Enrollment382-28.9%18th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$17.5M+94.0%21st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %37.8%+6.7%69th
Student Support Spending %31.8%+10.1%97th
Administrative Spending %15.9%-5.1%39th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.37×+14.1%82nd
Average Net Price$18,434-13.8%47th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$18,120-17.8%69th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$18,858-15.9%72nd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$17,716-18.3%57th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$23,322-6.4%65th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$25,700not reported53rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Herzing University-Akron's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Herzing University-Akron's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 3 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Herzing University-Akron's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.08× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Herzing University-Akron's total enrollment fell from 537 to 382 students between 2020 and 2024 (-28.9%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Herzing University-Akron costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Herzing University-Akron spends $4.37 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared