College Viability Inspection Report

Heritage University

Washington · Private, not-for-profit

Heritage University is a private, nonprofit institution in Washington, enrolling 691 students as of 2024. It graduates 23% of students in four years, returns 57% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $15,563 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Heritage University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Heritage University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Heritage University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Heritage University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate23.0%+228.6%22nd
Six-Year Graduation Rate42.0%+44.8%26th
Full-Time Retention Rate57.0%-32.1%10th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate42.4%+12.8%39th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap33.6pp+31.5%97th
Pell Share of Cohort72.5%-13.8%90th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.24×+18.1%81st
Total FTE Enrollment691-2.5%27th
Endowment Value$39.8M+47.5%44th
Net Assets (End of Year)$61.3M+43.4%41st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %39.7%-14.7%74th
Student Support Spending %9.0%-37.1%33rd
Administrative Spending %27.5%+26.4%80th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.77×-36.8%24th
Average Net Price$15,563+111.6%35th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$15,114+135.9%55th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$12,383+77.6%40th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$14,119+118.0%36th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$17,053+12.4%32nd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,749not reported31st

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Heritage University's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Heritage University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Heritage University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Heritage University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Heritage University's total enrollment fell from 709 to 691 students between 2020 and 2024 (-2.5%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Heritage University's endowment is $39.8M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +47.5% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Heritage University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Heritage University spends $1.77 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 3 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared