College Viability Inspection Report

Heritage Christian University

Alabama · Private, not-for-profit

Heritage Christian University is a private, nonprofit institution in Alabama, enrolling 45 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 0% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $13,222 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Heritage Christian University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Heritage Christian University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Heritage Christian University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Heritage Christian University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Heritage Christian University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-100.0pp-200.0%0th
Pell Share of Cohort66.7%-22.2%87th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio2.68×+113.4%100th
Total FTE Enrollment45-2.2%4th
Endowment Value$15.8M+26.6%26th
Net Assets (End of Year)$21.9M+34.1%24th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %20.5%+32.4%12th
Student Support Spending %14.7%+52.3%58th
Administrative Spending %47.5%+0.9%97th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.74×+38.7%4th
Average Net Price$13,222-2.6%25th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$15,833not reported58th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$15,020not reported42nd
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Heritage Christian University's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Heritage Christian University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Heritage Christian University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Heritage Christian University's total enrollment fell from 46 to 45 students between 2020 and 2024 (-2.2%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Heritage Christian University's endowment is $15.8M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +26.6% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Heritage Christian University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Heritage Christian University spends $0.74 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared