College Viability Inspection Report

Hebrew Theological College

Illinois · Private, not-for-profit

Hebrew Theological College is a private, nonprofit institution in Illinois, enrolling 120 students as of 2024. It graduates 16% of students in four years, returns 86% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $16,158 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Hebrew Theological College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Hebrew Theological College between 2020 and 2024. 3 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 2 with no years reported at all) and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Hebrew Theological College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Hebrew Theological College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Hebrew Theological College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate16.0%+433.3%15th
Six-Year Graduation Rate20.0%+300.0%7th
Full-Time Retention Rate86.0%0.0%77th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+1466.7%53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap0.0pp-100.0%17th
Pell Share of Cohort21.1%-69.0%17th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment120-20.5%9th
Endowment Value$1.1M+5.9%6th
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %19.7%not reported10th
Student Support Spending %2.8%not reported7th
Administrative Spending %23.6%not reported70th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.96×-55.8%8th
Average Net Price$16,158+8.3%38th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$21,396+16.8%80th
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$35,059+52.7%83rd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Hebrew Theological College's retention rate stayed at or above 86% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Hebrew Theological College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 1 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Hebrew Theological College's total enrollment fell from 151 to 120 students between 2020 and 2024 (-20.5%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Hebrew Theological College's endowment is $1.1M — under $50 million — and grew +5.9% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Hebrew Theological College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Hebrew Theological College spends $0.96 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared