College Viability Inspection Report

Franklin W Olin College of Engineering

Massachusetts · Private, not-for-profit

Franklin W Olin College of Engineering is a private, nonprofit institution in Massachusetts, enrolling 397 students as of 2024. It graduates 82% of students in four years, returns 98% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $43,184 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Franklin W Olin College of Engineering between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Franklin W Olin College of Engineering Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Franklin W Olin College of Engineering — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Franklin W Olin College of Engineering. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate82.0%+5.1%95th
Six-Year Graduation Rate94.0%+1.1%97th
Full-Time Retention Rate98.0%+21.0%95th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate91.7%+1.9%96th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap5.5pp+31.3%36th
Pell Share of Cohort14.5%+14.2%9th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.39×+204.4%91st
Total FTE Enrollment397+5.9%18th
Endowment Value$425.9M+15.2%87th
Net Assets (End of Year)$319.9M+7.2%77th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %29.5%+4.6%34th
Student Support Spending %29.1%+4.0%95th
Administrative Spending %26.4%-1.2%77th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.21×+5.6%35th
Average Net Price$43,184+25.9%97th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$3,100+260.9%4th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$9,528-33.4%14th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$12,271-29.1%12th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$27,096-23.2%60th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's retention rate stayed at or above 81% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 78% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 1.39×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's total enrollment grew from 375 to 397 students between 2020 and 2024 (+5.9%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering's endowment is $425.9M and grew +15.2% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering spends $2.21 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared