College Viability Inspection Report

Fontbonne University

Missouri · Private, not-for-profit

Fontbonne University is a private, nonprofit institution in Missouri, enrolling 680 students as of 2024. It graduates 47% of students in four years. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks Fontbonne University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Fontbonne University between 2020 and 2024. 2 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Fontbonne University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Fontbonne University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Fontbonne University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate47.0%-7.8%60th
Six-Year Graduation Rate58.0%-7.9%55th
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate31.9%-55.8%21st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap22.8pp+338.1%93rd
Pell Share of Cohort65.0%+100.5%87th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.25×+43.1%82nd
Total FTE Enrollment680-12.1%26th
Endowment Value$4.7M-69.2%13th
Net Assets (End of Year)$18.8M-37.6%22nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %31.9%-12.0%44th
Student Support Spending %16.0%-16.3%63rd
Administrative Spending %25.4%+45.3%75th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.89×-40.5%26th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Fontbonne University's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Fontbonne University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Fontbonne University's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 1.25×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Fontbonne University's total enrollment fell from 774 to 680 students between 2020 and 2024 (-12.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Fontbonne University's endowment is $4.7M — under $50 million — and grew -69.2% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Fontbonne University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated