College Viability Inspection Report

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus

New Jersey · Private, not-for-profit

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is a private, nonprofit institution in New Jersey, enrolling 1,988 students as of 2024. It graduates 52% of students in four years, returns 78% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $25,585 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 1 is flagged: Retention. This report benchmarks Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus between 2020 and 2024. 10 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 5 with no years reported at all) and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate52.0%not reported68th
Six-Year Graduation Rate61.0%not reported61st
Full-Time Retention Rate78.0%not reported54th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate55.2%not reported64th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap17.1ppnot reported82nd
Pell Share of Cohort34.3%not reported41st

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Total FTE Enrollment1,988not reported56th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)not reportednot reportednot reported

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Student Support Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Administrative Spending %not reportednot reportednot reported
Instruction+Support to Admin Rationot reportednot reportednot reported
Average Net Price$25,585+10.6%75th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,624+4.7%44th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$14,383+8.7%51st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$21,154+1.0%73rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$29,052+15.9%86th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$34,331+9.8%82nd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 1 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 2 of 4 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Total enrollment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated