College Viability Inspection Report

Empire State University

New York · Public

Empire State University is a public institution in New York, enrolling 6,258 students as of 2024. It graduates 11% of students in four years, returns 66% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $11,659 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Empire State University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Empire State University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Empire State University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Empire State University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate11.0%-38.9%12th
Six-Year Graduation Rate21.0%-30.0%8th
Full-Time Retention Rate66.0%+1.5%21st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate40.4%+131.5%35th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-12.8pp-209.2%6th
Pell Share of Cohort64.2%-17.9%86th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.07×+7.3%47th
Total FTE Enrollment6,258+5.3%82nd
Endowment Value$28.0M+33.4%36th
Net Assets (End of Year)$55.0M+100.5%38th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %47.2%-3.9%89th
Student Support Spending %11.6%+4.7%45th
Administrative Spending %26.2%+10.3%77th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.25×-11.4%36th
Average Net Price$11,659-3.3%19th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$8,989-18.1%23rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$10,507-21.4%30th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$14,812+2.0%41st
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$16,481+9.0%29th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$19,679not reported26th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Empire State University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Empire State University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Empire State University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Empire State University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Empire State University's total enrollment grew from 5,940 to 6,258 students between 2020 and 2024 (+5.4%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Empire State University's endowment is $28.0M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +33.4% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Empire State University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Empire State University spends $2.25 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared