College Viability Inspection Report

East-West University

Illinois · Private, not-for-profit

East-West University is a private, nonprofit institution in Illinois, enrolling 463 students as of 2024. It graduates 8% of students in four years, returns 37% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $21,872 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, and Cost vs. Completion. This report benchmarks East-West University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for East-West University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

East-West University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

East-West University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for East-West University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate8.0%+33.3%9th
Six-Year Graduation Rate15.0%+87.5%6th
Full-Time Retention Rate37.0%+19.4%2nd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate15.6%+10.4%8th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap28.8pp-19.6%96th
Pell Share of Cohort87.7%-7.4%95th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.33×+15.3%88th
Total FTE Enrollment463+22.5%20th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$74.0M+7.6%44th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %31.2%+1.4%40th
Student Support Spending %28.7%+34.0%94th
Administrative Spending %13.4%+19.4%28th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio4.47×-3.9%84th
Average Net Price$21,872+19.5%62nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$19,168+10.1%73rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$26,636+66.3%91st
Net Price: $48-75K Income$29,284+68.9%93rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$30,852+166.8%89th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
East-West University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
East-West University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
East-West University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 3 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
East-West University's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.33× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
East-West University's total enrollment grew from 378 to 463 students between 2020 and 2024 (+22.5%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
East-West University costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
East-West University spends $4.47 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared