College Viability Inspection Report

Dunwoody College of Technology

Minnesota · Private, not-for-profit

Dunwoody College of Technology is a private, nonprofit institution in Minnesota, enrolling 1,295 students as of 2024. It graduates 38% of students in four years, returns 76% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $26,192 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Cost vs. Completion, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Dunwoody College of Technology's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Dunwoody College of Technology between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Dunwoody College of Technology Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Dunwoody College of Technology — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Dunwoody College of Technology. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate38.0%-24.0%46th
Six-Year Graduation Rate38.0%-24.0%21st
Full-Time Retention Rate76.0%+11.8%47th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-21.4ppnot reported4th
Pell Share of Cohort33.3%not reported38th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.42×+17.8%92nd
Total FTE Enrollment1,295+5.9%43rd
Endowment Value$61.3M+149.9%54th
Net Assets (End of Year)$98.6M+137.6%51st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %50.7%-10.7%92nd
Student Support Spending %12.4%+50.0%49th
Administrative Spending %28.1%+8.6%81st
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.24×-10.7%35th
Average Net Price$26,192+1.2%77th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$22,072-10.1%83rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$22,324-7.2%83rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$24,219-6.3%84th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$27,706+1.8%82nd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$33,568+9.2%80th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Dunwoody College of Technology's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Dunwoody College of Technology's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Dunwoody College of Technology's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.42× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Dunwoody College of Technology's total enrollment grew from 1,223 to 1,295 students between 2020 and 2024 (+5.9%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Dunwoody College of Technology's endowment is $61.3M and grew +149.9% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Dunwoody College of Technology costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Dunwoody College of Technology spends $2.24 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Dunwoody College of Technology's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered