College Viability Inspection Report

Dallas College

Texas · Public

Dallas College is a public institution in Texas, enrolling 42,088 students as of 2024. It returns 67% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $3,177 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 4 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Enrollment and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Dallas College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Dallas College between 2020 and 2024. 6 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 5 with no years reported at all) and 5 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Dallas College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Dallas College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Dallas College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate67.0%not reported23rd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.03×-5.9%36th
Total FTE Enrollment42,088-19.7%100th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$886.8M+60.1%89th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %27.2%-32.5%27th
Student Support Spending %14.5%+13.9%58th
Administrative Spending %21.8%-1.9%64th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.91×-19.9%27th
Average Net Price$3,177-40.1%1st
Net Price: $0-30K Income$2,120-44.1%3rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$2,530-45.2%3rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$5,023-27.0%3rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$7,185-18.8%2nd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$9,504-8.0%2nd

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Dallas College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 3 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Dallas College's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.03× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Dallas College's total enrollment fell from 52,423 to 42,088 students between 2020 and 2024 (-19.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Dallas College spends $1.91 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated