College Viability Inspection Report

Curtis Institute of Music

Pennsylvania · Private, not-for-profit

Curtis Institute of Music is a private, nonprofit institution in Pennsylvania, enrolling 126 students as of 2024. It graduates 67% of students in four years, returns 100% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $23,686 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Enrollment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Curtis Institute of Music's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Curtis Institute of Music between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Curtis Institute of Music Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Curtis Institute of Music — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Curtis Institute of Music. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate67.0%+76.3%84th
Six-Year Graduation Rate92.0%+19.5%96th
Full-Time Retention Rate100.0%0.0%97th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap0.0pp-100.0%17th
Pell Share of Cohort9.5%+71.4%4th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.98×+11.6%21st
Total FTE Enrollment126-19.8%10th
Endowment Value$229.5M+26.7%80th
Net Assets (End of Year)$366.3M+24.4%79th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %48.5%+10.1%90th
Student Support Spending %13.0%+27.1%52nd
Administrative Spending %28.9%-20.5%82nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.13×+42.5%32nd
Average Net Price$23,686+84.5%69th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Curtis Institute of Music's retention rate stayed at or above 90% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Curtis Institute of Music's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Curtis Institute of Music's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Curtis Institute of Music's total enrollment fell from 157 to 126 students between 2020 and 2024 (-19.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Curtis Institute of Music's endowment is $229.5M and grew +26.7% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Curtis Institute of Music costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Curtis Institute of Music spends $2.13 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared