College Viability Inspection Report

Cleveland University-Kansas City

Kansas · Private, not-for-profit

Cleveland University-Kansas City is a private, nonprofit institution in Kansas, enrolling 85 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 50% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $35,764 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Cost vs. Completion. This report benchmarks Cleveland University-Kansas City's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Cleveland University-Kansas City between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Cleveland University-Kansas City Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Cleveland University-Kansas City — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Cleveland University-Kansas City. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%not reported39th
Full-Time Retention Rate50.0%not reported5th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate100.0%not reported98th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap0.0ppnot reported17th
Pell Share of Cohort50.0%-50.0%70th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.15×+4.3%67th
Total FTE Enrollment85-9.6%7th
Endowment Value$22.8M+16.2%32nd
Net Assets (End of Year)$48.3M+13.3%35th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %41.2%-0.4%78th
Student Support Spending %22.1%-7.5%83rd
Administrative Spending %16.8%+10.8%44th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.76×-12.5%73rd
Average Net Price$35,764not reported93rd
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$35,764not reported95th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Cleveland University-Kansas City's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Cleveland University-Kansas City's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 4 of 4 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Cleveland University-Kansas City's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Cleveland University-Kansas City's total enrollment fell from 94 to 85 students between 2020 and 2024 (-9.6%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Cleveland University-Kansas City's endowment is $22.8M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +16.2% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Cleveland University-Kansas City costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Cleveland University-Kansas City spends $3.76 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated