College Viability Inspection Report

Cleveland Institute of Music

Ohio · Private, not-for-profit

Cleveland Institute of Music is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 201 students as of 2024. It graduates 71% of students in four years, returns 90% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $29,683 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 2 are flagged: Enrollment and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Cleveland Institute of Music's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Cleveland Institute of Music between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Cleveland Institute of Music Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Cleveland Institute of Music — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Cleveland Institute of Music. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate71.0%+4.4%89th
Six-Year Graduation Rate83.0%+10.7%90th
Full-Time Retention Rate90.0%-6.3%85th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate37.5%-50.0%29th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap39.9pp+1726.2%98th
Pell Share of Cohort13.1%+80.3%7th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.45×+36.3%93rd
Total FTE Enrollment201-16.3%13th
Endowment Value$58.3M+37.8%53rd
Net Assets (End of Year)$97.9M+34.7%51st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %50.6%-13.0%92nd
Student Support Spending %3.2%-39.8%9th
Administrative Spending %27.6%+6.5%80th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.95×-20.4%28th
Average Net Price$29,683-19.6%86th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$23,782+17.9%88th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$29,767not reported94th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$16,884-43.5%53rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$21,212-37.1%54th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$32,629-21.8%78th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Cleveland Institute of Music's retention rate stayed at or above 89% in all 5 reported years — above the 80% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Cleveland Institute of Music's 4-year graduation rate stayed at or above 58% in all 5 reported years — above the 50% threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Cleveland Institute of Music's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.45× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Cleveland Institute of Music's total enrollment fell from 240 to 201 students between 2020 and 2024 (-16.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Cleveland Institute of Music's endowment is $58.3M and grew +37.8% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Cleveland Institute of Music costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Cleveland Institute of Music spends $1.95 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared