College Viability Inspection Report

Clarkson College

Nebraska · Private, not-for-profit

Clarkson College is a private, nonprofit institution in Nebraska, enrolling 550 students as of 2024. It graduates 68% of students in four years, returns 61% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $18,289 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Endowment. This report benchmarks Clarkson College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Clarkson College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Clarkson College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Clarkson College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Clarkson College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate68.0%+54.5%86th
Six-Year Graduation Rate73.0%+55.3%80th
Full-Time Retention Rate61.0%+3.4%14th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+100.0%53rd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-16.7pp-176.9%5th
Pell Share of Cohort18.2%-47.7%13th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.10×-7.1%55th
Total FTE Enrollment550-1.8%23rd
Endowment Value$5.6M-0.3%15th
Net Assets (End of Year)$25.6M+99.9%26th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %55.6%-1.6%96th
Student Support Spending %10.1%-20.1%38th
Administrative Spending %12.5%-4.0%24th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio5.26×-1.0%90th
Average Net Price$18,289+5.0%47th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$19,222+1.0%73rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$17,312-23.8%55th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$20,003+21.6%48th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,262-18.7%29th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Clarkson College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Clarkson College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Clarkson College's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.10× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Clarkson College's total enrollment fell from 560 to 550 students between 2020 and 2024 (-1.8%) — less than the 5% decline that triggers this flag.
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Clarkson College's endowment is $5.6M — under $50 million — and grew -0.3% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Clarkson College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Clarkson College spends $5.26 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin in 2024 — at or above the national median of $2.75 in every reported year.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared