College Viability Inspection Report

Claremont Graduate University

California · Private, not-for-profit

Claremont Graduate University is a private, nonprofit institution in California. None of the 3 inspection checks that could be evaluated for Claremont Graduate University are flagged. This report benchmarks Claremont Graduate University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Claremont Graduate University between 2020 and 2024. 11 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 (including 7 with no years reported at all) and 6 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Claremont Graduate University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Claremont Graduate University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Claremont Graduate University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.06×+0.3%47th
Total FTE Enrollmentnot reportednot reportednot reported
Endowment Value$207.6M+18.7%78th
Net Assets (End of Year)$256.0M+34.7%73rd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %42.9%-1.2%82nd
Student Support Spending %8.6%+10.2%30th
Administrative Spending %23.2%+26.8%69th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.22×-20.7%35th
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Claremont Graduate University's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 4 reported years — ending at 1.06× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Total enrollment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Claremont Graduate University's endowment is $207.6M and grew +18.7% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Claremont Graduate University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated