College Viability Inspection Report

Chicago State University

Illinois · Public

Chicago State University is a public institution in Illinois, enrolling 1,193 students as of 2024. It graduates 11% of students in four years, returns 57% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $10,441 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Equity Gap, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks Chicago State University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Chicago State University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Chicago State University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Chicago State University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate11.0%+175.0%12th
Six-Year Graduation Rate28.0%+55.6%12th
Full-Time Retention Rate57.0%+5.6%10th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate12.6%+0.9%7th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap13.2pp-40.8%69th
Pell Share of Cohort78.2%-3.9%93rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.07×+10.3%49th
Total FTE Enrollment1,193-25.6%41st
Endowment Value$8.5M+13.1%18th
Net Assets (End of Year)$173.2M+20.6%64th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %49.3%+8.5%91st
Student Support Spending %5.9%-3.9%18th
Administrative Spending %19.8%+8.2%57th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.79×-1.1%52nd
Average Net Price$10,441+20.9%14th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,073-28.5%23rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$9,550-21.6%24th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$11,334-17.1%22nd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$13,899not reported18th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$28,427not reported65th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Chicago State University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Chicago State University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Chicago State University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 4 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Chicago State University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Chicago State University's total enrollment fell from 1,604 to 1,193 students between 2020 and 2024 (-25.6%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Chicago State University's endowment is $8.5M — under $50 million — and grew +13.1% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Chicago State University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Chicago State University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared