College Viability Inspection Report

Carolina Christian College

North Carolina · Private, not-for-profit

Carolina Christian College is a private, nonprofit institution in North Carolina, enrolling 43 students as of 2024. It returns 0% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $21,274 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Carolina Christian College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Carolina Christian College between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Carolina Christian College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Carolina Christian College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Carolina Christian College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap100.0ppnot reported100th
Pell Share of Cohort88.9%-11.1%96th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.86×-16.3%6th
Total FTE Enrollment43-28.3%4th
Endowment Value$300,269+35.6%3rd
Net Assets (End of Year)$848,981+52.0%6th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %18.9%+30.8%9th
Student Support Spending %2.8%-57.5%7th
Administrative Spending %56.3%-0.0%99th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.38×+3.4%1st
Average Net Price$21,274+206.4%59th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$21,780+167.4%81st
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$28,817not reported85th
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Carolina Christian College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Carolina Christian College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 3 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Carolina Christian College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Carolina Christian College's total enrollment fell from 60 to 43 students between 2020 and 2024 (-28.3%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Carolina Christian College's endowment is $300,269, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +35.6% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Carolina Christian College spends $0.38 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated