College Viability Inspection Report

Cambridge College

Massachusetts · Private, not-for-profit

Cambridge College is a private, nonprofit institution in Massachusetts, enrolling 412 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 100% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $31,072 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 6 are flagged: Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Cambridge College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Cambridge College between 2020 and 2024. 2 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Cambridge College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Cambridge College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Cambridge College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate100.0%not reported97th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap16.7ppnot reported81st
Pell Share of Cohort25.0%-50.0%23rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.52×-40.7%0th
Total FTE Enrollment412-36.9%18th
Endowment Value$15.5M-74.6%25th
Net Assets (End of Year)$38.3M-37.0%31st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %25.7%-12.9%22nd
Student Support Spending %28.5%+0.5%94th
Administrative Spending %24.4%+8.0%73rd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.22×-13.3%35th
Average Net Price$31,072not reported88th
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$31,072not reported96th
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Cambridge College's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 4 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Cambridge College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Cambridge College's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.52×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Cambridge College's total enrollment fell from 653 to 412 students between 2020 and 2024 (-36.9%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Cambridge College's endowment is $15.5M — under $50 million — and grew -74.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Cambridge College costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Cambridge College spends $2.22 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated