College Viability Inspection Report

Boston Architectural College

Massachusetts · Private, not-for-profit

Boston Architectural College is a private, nonprofit institution in Massachusetts, enrolling 190 students as of 2024. It graduates 5% of students in four years, returns 75% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $26,590 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Boston Architectural College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Boston Architectural College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Boston Architectural College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Boston Architectural College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Boston Architectural College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate5.0%not reported7th
Six-Year Graduation Rate23.0%+15.0%9th
Full-Time Retention Rate75.0%0.0%45th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate42.9%not reported40th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-17.9pp-146.9%5th
Pell Share of Cohort36.8%+194.7%47th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.93×-7.2%12th
Total FTE Enrollment190-17.8%12th
Endowment Value$11.1M-6.6%20th
Net Assets (End of Year)$16.5M-10.7%21st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %23.9%-39.4%18th
Student Support Spending %20.4%+18.0%78th
Administrative Spending %39.2%+41.9%94th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.13×-45.0%10th
Average Net Price$26,590-18.7%78th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$24,056-8.7%88th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$14,348not reported50th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$30,097-5.3%93rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$34,343+11.2%93rd
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Boston Architectural College's retention rate fell below 80% in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Boston Architectural College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Boston Architectural College's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.93×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Boston Architectural College's total enrollment fell from 231 to 190 students between 2020 and 2024 (-17.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Boston Architectural College's endowment is $11.1M — under $50 million — and grew -6.6% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Boston Architectural College costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Boston Architectural College spends $1.13 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared