College Viability Inspection Report

Bethesda University

California · Private, not-for-profit

Bethesda University is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 175 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 45% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $20,099 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 7 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Cost vs. Completion, Tuition Allocation, and Price vs. Outcomes. This report benchmarks Bethesda University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Bethesda University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Bethesda University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Bethesda University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Bethesda University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate45.0%-6.3%3rd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%-100.0%0th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap10.0pp+154.9%55th
Pell Share of Cohort21.6%-59.6%18th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.90×-9.9%10th
Total FTE Enrollment175-24.9%12th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$12.8M-24.0%19th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %14.1%+48.8%4th
Student Support Spending %4.2%+9.8%12th
Administrative Spending %40.8%+1.5%95th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.45×+35.7%2nd
Average Net Price$20,099+18.8%54th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$9,747-30.5%27th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$9,527-10.0%23rd
Net Price: $48-75K Income$12,063-40.8%25th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$11,759-47.6%11th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$13,575not reported8th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Bethesda University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Bethesda University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Bethesda University's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 4 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.90×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Bethesda University's total enrollment fell from 233 to 175 students between 2020 and 2024 (-24.9%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Bethesda University costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Bethesda University spends $0.45 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Both conditions were met: Bethesda University's net price rose while the 6-year graduation rate declined between 2020 and 2024 — a prompt to ask whether tuition increases are translating into stronger student outcomes.
Value for MoneyTriggered