College Viability Inspection Report

Bard College at Simon's Rock

Massachusetts · Private, not-for-profit

Bard College at Simon's Rock is a private, nonprofit institution in Massachusetts, enrolling 265 students as of 2024. It returns 77% of freshmen for a second year and costs an average of $41,013 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 5 are flagged: Retention, Revenue to Expenses, Enrollment, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Bard College at Simon's Rock's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Bard College at Simon's Rock between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Bard College at Simon's Rock Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Bard College at Simon's Rock — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Bard College at Simon's Rock. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Full-Time Retention Rate77.0%+2.7%51st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gapnot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Share of Cohortnot reportednot reportednot reported

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.77×-17.9%3rd
Total FTE Enrollment265-32.0%15th
Endowment Value$1.7M+19387.2%7th
Net Assets (End of Year)$41.5M+72.1%32nd

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %28.9%-9.4%32nd
Student Support Spending %17.1%-9.9%67th
Administrative Spending %27.3%+15.2%79th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.69×-21.5%22nd
Average Net Price$41,013+9.9%96th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$27,480+8.1%93rd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$41,839+62.0%99th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$30,051+2.3%93rd
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$24,820-18.0%72nd
Net Price: $110K+ Income$32,298-55.3%78th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Bard College at Simon's Rock's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Bard College at Simon's Rock's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.77×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Bard College at Simon's Rock's total enrollment fell from 390 to 265 students between 2020 and 2024 (-32.1%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Bard College at Simon's Rock's endowment is $1.7M, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +19387.2% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Bard College at Simon's Rock spends $1.69 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated