College Viability Inspection Report

Azusa Pacific University

California · Private, not-for-profit

Azusa Pacific University is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 2,892 students as of 2024. It graduates 44% of students in four years, returns 84% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $26,143 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 9 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Equity Gap, Revenue to Expenses, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Azusa Pacific University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Azusa Pacific University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Azusa Pacific University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Azusa Pacific University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate44.0%-17.0%56th
Six-Year Graduation Rate61.0%-9.0%61st
Full-Time Retention Rate84.0%+10.5%71st
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate49.3%-9.1%52nd
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap18.8pp+15.0%86th
Pell Share of Cohort33.7%+25.0%40th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.96×-1.6%18th
Total FTE Enrollment2,892-43.8%67th
Endowment Value$96.2M+25.1%64th
Net Assets (End of Year)$220.1M+29.1%70th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %36.4%-15.6%63rd
Student Support Spending %22.4%+18.1%84th
Administrative Spending %22.4%+17.1%67th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.62×-19.1%46th
Average Net Price$26,143-16.6%77th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$15,781-40.6%59th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$20,495-24.2%78th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$22,998-19.4%80th
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Income$27,193-26.7%61st

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Azusa Pacific University's retention rate fell below 80% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Azusa Pacific University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Azusa Pacific University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10 percentage points in 4 of 5 eligible years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Azusa Pacific University's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.96×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Azusa Pacific University's total enrollment fell from 5,141 to 2,892 students between 2020 and 2024 (-43.7%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Azusa Pacific University's endowment is $96.2M and grew +25.1% between 2020 and 2024 — clearing both the $50 million size threshold and the 15% growth threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
High Cost, Low Completion
Azusa Pacific University costs more than the national median but also graduates students at above-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Azusa Pacific University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared