College Viability Inspection Report

Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Georgia · Public

Atlanta Metropolitan State College is a public institution in Georgia, enrolling 1,224 students as of 2024. It graduates 0% of students in four years, returns 45% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $4,630 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Enrollment, and Endowment. This report benchmarks Atlanta Metropolitan State College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Atlanta Metropolitan State College between 2020 and 2024. 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Atlanta Metropolitan State College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Atlanta Metropolitan State College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Atlanta Metropolitan State College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Six-Year Graduation Rate0.0%0.0%0th
Full-Time Retention Rate45.0%-35.7%3rd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate22.2%not reported11th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-22.2ppnot reported4th
Pell Share of Cohort81.8%+63.6%94th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.11×+11.7%59th
Total FTE Enrollment1,224-7.8%42nd
Endowment Value$683,471+46.3%4th
Net Assets (End of Year)$15.9M+973.6%21st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %21.1%-8.4%13th
Student Support Spending %23.3%+58.2%85th
Administrative Spending %12.1%-45.6%22nd
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.66×+116.0%71st
Average Net Price$4,630-40.6%2nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$4,288-35.7%7th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$4,184-43.8%6th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$8,387-15.4%10th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$10,270-12.6%8th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$11,740-9.2%4th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's ratio fell below 1.0 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's total enrollment fell from 1,328 to 1,224 students between 2020 and 2024 (-7.8%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's endowment is $683,471, under the $50 million threshold. A smaller endowment leaves less cushion for scholarships and for tough budget years, even though it grew +46.3% over the period.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Atlanta Metropolitan State College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Atlanta Metropolitan State College's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared