College Viability Inspection Report

Arlington Baptist University

Texas · Private, not-for-profit

Arlington Baptist University is a private, nonprofit institution in Texas, enrolling 257 students as of 2024. It graduates 24% of students in four years, returns 41% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $25,267 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 7 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, Cost vs. Completion, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Arlington Baptist University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Arlington Baptist University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 2 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Arlington Baptist University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Arlington Baptist University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Arlington Baptist University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate24.0%+300.0%23rd
Six-Year Graduation Rate24.0%+26.3%9th
Full-Time Retention Rate41.0%-29.3%3rd
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate4.5%-77.3%5th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap38.3pp+4497.4%98th
Pell Share of Cohort61.1%+107.8%84th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.12×+7.9%62nd
Total FTE Enrollment257+90.4%15th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$3.6M+158.3%11th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %22.0%-27.4%14th
Student Support Spending %30.4%+8.0%96th
Administrative Spending %22.2%+10.1%66th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio2.36×-18.6%39th
Average Net Price$25,267+16.5%74th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$21,759-2.7%82nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$21,518-7.7%80th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$26,892+16.5%89th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$28,642+21.6%85th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$25,941+8.3%55th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Arlington Baptist University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Arlington Baptist University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Arlington Baptist University's ratio stayed at or above 1.0 in all 5 reported years — ending at 1.12× in 2024.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Arlington Baptist University's total enrollment grew from 135 to 257 students between 2020 and 2024 (+90.4%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Arlington Baptist University costs more than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — both conditions for this flag are met.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Arlington Baptist University spends $2.36 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 4 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared