College Viability Inspection Report

Antioch College

Ohio · Private, not-for-profit

Antioch College is a private, nonprofit institution in Ohio, enrolling 112 students as of 2024. It graduates 13% of students in four years, returns 72% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $15,964 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 4 are flagged: Retention, Revenue to Expenses, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Antioch College's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Antioch College between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator has IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Antioch College Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Antioch College — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Antioch College. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate13.0%-75.5%13th
Six-Year Graduation Rate25.0%-62.1%10th
Full-Time Retention Rate72.0%+1.4%36th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate31.8%not reported21st
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap26.5ppnot reported96th
Pell Share of Cohort64.7%not reported87th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.64×-20.6%1st
Total FTE Enrollment112+33.3%9th
Endowment Value$20.4M-0.2%30th
Net Assets (End of Year)$38.0M-32.1%31st

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %12.6%-0.6%3rd
Student Support Spending %31.3%+97.0%97th
Administrative Spending %34.1%+55.0%89th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio1.29×-0.8%14th
Average Net Price$15,964-10.7%37th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$12,578-29.1%44th
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$13,006-33.8%44th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$14,335-31.9%38th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$11,398-58.5%10th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$31,087not reported75th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Antioch College's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Antioch College's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Antioch College's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 0.64×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Antioch College's total enrollment grew from 84 to 112 students between 2020 and 2024 (+33.3%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Antioch College's endowment is $20.4M — under $50 million — and grew -0.2% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Antioch College costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Antioch College spends $1.29 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared