College Viability Inspection Report

American Jewish University

California · Private, not-for-profit

American Jewish University is a private, nonprofit institution in California, enrolling 55 students as of 2024. It graduates 50% of students in four years. Of the 5 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Graduation, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks American Jewish University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for American Jewish University between 2020 and 2024. 2 indicators are not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 4 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

American Jewish University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

American Jewish University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for American Jewish University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+25.0%65th
Six-Year Graduation Rate50.0%+25.0%39th
Full-Time Retention Ratenot reportednot reportednot reported
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate75.0%not reported88th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap-55.0pp-182.5%1st
Pell Share of Cohort44.4%-11.1%62nd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio2.17×+256.7%99th
Total FTE Enrollment55+25.0%5th
Endowment Value$25.5M+14.2%34th
Net Assets (End of Year)$88.9M-6.4%49th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %8.9%-31.0%2nd
Student Support Spending %0.6%-50.6%3rd
Administrative Spending %43.8%+20.0%96th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.22×-43.9%1st
Average Net Pricenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $0-30K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $30K-48K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $48-75K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $75K-110K Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Price: $110K+ Incomenot reportednot reportednot reported

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
American Jewish University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 0 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
American Jewish University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
American Jewish University's total enrollment grew from 44 to 55 students between 2020 and 2024 (+25.0%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
American Jewish University's endowment is $25.5M — under $50 million — and grew +14.2% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Either net price or 6-year graduation rate is not reported, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated
Spending on Students Below the National Median
American Jewish University spends $0.22 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated