College Viability Inspection Report

Albizu University-San Juan

Puerto Rico · Private, not-for-profit

Albizu University-San Juan is a private, nonprofit institution in Puerto Rico, enrolling 892 students as of 2024. It graduates 69% of students in four years, returns 82% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $9,458 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 6 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Revenue to Expenses, Endowment, and Tuition Allocation. This report benchmarks Albizu University-San Juan's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Albizu University-San Juan between 2020 and 2024. 4 indicators have IPEDS data missing for one or more years 2020–2024 and 3 inspection flags could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Albizu University-San Juan Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Albizu University-San Juan — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Albizu University-San Juan. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate69.0%not reported87th
Six-Year Graduation Rate71.0%not reported78th
Full-Time Retention Rate82.0%-3.5%66th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate65.3%not reported79th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap8.4ppnot reported47th
Pell Share of Cohort79.1%not reported93rd

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio1.01×+4.3%31st
Total FTE Enrollment892+43.4%33rd
Endowment Value$1.2M-4.2%6th
Net Assets (End of Year)$7.8M-11.6%15th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %20.3%-19.3%11th
Student Support Spending %4.5%-3.8%14th
Administrative Spending %32.2%-6.0%87th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio0.77×-11.5%5th
Average Net Price$9,458-23.7%11th
Net Price: $0-30K Income$8,880-24.5%22nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$9,676-20.1%24th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$12,050-23.5%25th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$18,382not reported39th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$18,382not reported21st

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Albizu University-San Juan's retention rate fell below 80% in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years available.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Not enough reported data for this flag — only 2 of 5 years had a Pell cohort of 50+ students.
Student OutcomesNot Evaluated
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Albizu University-San Juan's revenue-to-expense ratio fell below 1.0 in 3 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold. 2024: 1.01×.
Financial HealthTriggered
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Albizu University-San Juan's total enrollment grew from 622 to 892 students between 2020 and 2024 (+43.4%).
Financial HealthCleared
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Albizu University-San Juan's endowment is $1.2M — under $50 million — and grew -4.2% between 2020 and 2024, below the 15% growth threshold. Both conditions are met.
Financial HealthTriggered
High Cost, Low Completion
Albizu University-San Juan costs less than the national median AND graduates students at above-median rates — neither condition for this flag is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Albizu University-San Juan spends $0.77 on instruction and student support per $1 of admin (2024) — below the national median of $2.75 in 5 of 5 reported years.
Value for MoneyTriggered
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Endpoint data missing for either net price or graduation rate — flag could not be evaluated.
Value for MoneyNot Evaluated